New to Islandora: The Technical Advisory Group

Along with our recent shift to calling the Islandora Roadmap Committee the Islandora Coordinating Committee comes another addition to our governing structure: the Islandora Technical Advisory Group (TAG). This new body, capped at eight member so it stays agile, will work with the Technical Lead (Danny Lamb) to make recommendations about the development of Islandora, while considering the very diverse needs of our community. Members of the Technical Advisory Group can be drawn from any member institution in the Islandora Foundation, and are elected by and report to the Board of Directors.

Activities of the TAG include:

  • Remaining abreast of trends in community development and their implications for the larger code base.
  • Researching and advising on architectural decisions.

  • Advising on development and deprecation timelines for major versions.

  • Recommending priorities for community sprints.

  • At the request of the Committers, providing guidance about specific development issues.

  • Liaising with the Islandora community to clarify optimal development goals and general needs.

  • Providing guidance and support to the Technical Lead for making decisions and setting priorities.

  • Presenting recommendations to the Board of Directors and/or Roadmap regarding things such as:

    • Licensing issues

    • Spending of money (such as to hire contractors or pay for development tools)

    • Suggesting new nominees at lower levels of membership for the TAG

    • Acceptance of new modules into the code base

  • Organizing meetings and communicating regularly with stakeholders.

Meetings of the TAG will be limited to members, but agendas will be published ahead of time with a request for suggested items from the community, and notes will be published after each meeting.

The initial members of the Islandora Technical Advisory Group, as elected by the Board of Directors, are:

  • Jared Whiklo (University of Manitoba)
  • Bryan Brown (Florida State University)

  • William Panting (discoverygarden, Inc.)

  • Jonathan Green (LYRASIS)

  • Derek Merleaux (Born-Digital)

  • Rosie Le Faive (University of Prince Edward Island)